Expensive trolls

By Brad Feld via feld.com   Article

How Patent Trolls Really Work

“I’ve been asserting for at least six years that patent system is completely broken for the software industry. I’ve given numerous examples, dealt with the issue first hand as patent trolls have tried to extort many of the companies I’m an investor in, and I’ve had many public discussions about the topic.

On my run on Sunday, I listed to This American Life – When Patents Attack… Part Two! It is easily the best and most detailed expose I’ve ever heard on this issue. If you care to really understand how patent trolls work, spend an hour of your life and listen to it.

The issue has finally gone mainstream. Here’s a great quote on patent trolls from an article in Time Magazine (how much more mainstream can you get than that.)

“In 2011, Apple and Google spent more money on patent litigation and defensive patent acquisitions than on research and development. That’s not a good sign for the U.S. economy; in fact, it’s a stark indication that our intellectual-property system is broken. Rampant patent litigation is impeding innovation and ultimately increasing the costs of gadgets for consumers, according to legal experts and industry observers. Now President Obama says he wants to reform the system.”

There was an outcry of support last week when President Obama issued a set of executive orders and suggested legislative actions to fix the broken patent system. While the press release from the White House had a bland title, the substance was solid and the articles about it got to the point.”

11 Responses to Expensive trolls

  1. Trent says:

    You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation
    but I find this matter to be really one thing that I feel I would by no means understand.

    It sort of feels too complicated and extremely extensive for me.

    I’m looking ahead on your subsequent put up, I’ll try to get the hold of it!

  2. Roma says:

    Thank you, I’ve recently been searching for information about this topic for a while and yours is the best I have discovered so far.
    But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you positive
    about the supply?

  3. Phyllis says:

    Hello my loved one! I want to say that this article is awesome, nice
    written and come with approximately all significant infos.
    I’d like to look extra posts like this .

  4. you’re in point of fact a good webmaster.
    The website loading velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick.

    In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a
    excellent job in this matter!

  5. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to safeguard against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any suggestions?

  6. I think the admin of this website is genuinely working hard in support of
    his web page, as here every data is quality based material.

  7. Hello, I do think your website could possibly be having browser
    compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Safari, it
    looks fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Apart from that, great website!

  8. Especially you should carefully remove all makeup
    off the eyes. This application solves one of the major issues with the i – Phone cameras photo output – light
    issues. Everyone woman desires longer, thicker eyelashes to appear more beautiful.

  9. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to
    my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter
    updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  10. I have read so many posts concerning the blogger lovers except this paragraph
    is in fact a pleasant post, keep it up.

  11. Your style is very unique compared to other people
    I have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I will just bookmark this blog.

Leave a Reply

