Nothing special

By Steve Sammartino via startupblog.wordpress.com   Article

3D printing is nothing special

“Before I share the story let me share a terrific definition of technology:

Technology – Something that was invented after you were born.

So I was playing with my 3D printer in my home office when my 3 year old daughter entered the room. I asked her if she wanted me to print her something. Maybe a toy or some jewelry. She replied simple ‘Ok daddy’ and seemed pretty excited about it. Who wouldn’t be, it’s a 3D printer for crying out loud. So we picked one of the bracelets from the picture below, and sent the file to the printer. A pressed the print button and it started printing. I was pretty pumped. …

I quickly said’Look, Look, it’s printing it.’ To which she replied in a nonchalant manner. ‘Ok, thanks daddy’ …

Look, here it is, I printed it for you!!!’. … She said Thanks daddy’ and then put it on her wrist and skipped away to get on with her 3 year old life.

3D printing to her is as ‘normal’ as cars, TV, airplanes, computers and microwave ovens. How can it not be, it was invented before she was born. … by the time she is 13 years of age, yourself and every person we know will have a 3D printer.

We’ll all be printing things in our homes on a daily basis. And if you think that isn’t possible, let me remind you that every social media channel you currently use today didn’t exist 10 years ago … 3D printing is NOW – get on it and don’t regret you let this entrepreneurial opportunity slip you by.”

Leave a Reply

